Each state has unique laws that provide employees with certain rights and deserving privileges. As a business owner, you must decide whether or not you will be offering these privileges to your employees and enforce policies as such. As an employee, it is up to you whether or not you take advantage of those freedoms.
The California Labor Law does not necessarily require employers to offer a vacation policy, but if they do, their policy must meet the standards of the law. Vacation and paid-time-off wages are an accumulation of wages that you earn as an employee but have not yet been paid. It is important to note that once an employer puts vacation policies in place, they are not able to take them away or enforce a “use it or lose it” policy.
Many employers choose to impose probationary periods in which employees are unable to earn vacation or paid-time-off. While most California employers will set their probationary period at 3-6 months, employers actually have complete freedom when choosing their designated period. Many new employees fail to realize that their employer could choose a probationary period of 10 years if they desired. California Labor Law for Vacation only applies after the probationary period ends.
As an employee, it is important that you do not let your employer take advantage of you. It is illegal for an employer to set in place a “use it or lose it” policy. You have a right to use your accumulated vacation time, as long as you work for the organization. Your employer can however enforce a policy where if you do not take your vacation time, you are given your earned wages instead at the end of the year.
Contact Sackett & Associates Insurance Services for all of your Sonoma County, California insurance needs. If you have any remaining questions about California Labor Laws or Sonoma County Maximum Probationary Periods, feel free to give us a call! Whether you are the employer or the employee, we can guide you in the right direction.